Get Updates

New figures show there are now 12 schools in the Taupo Community of Learning | Kāhui Ako.

“The fact that we have so many schools working together is great news for our young people,” says MP for Taupo Louise Upston.

The figures show that two more local schools – Wairakei School and Whakamaru School - have joined the Taupo Communities of Learning, bringing the total number to 12, covering more than 4500 children and young people.

“I’m delighted that more of our students are benefiting from teachers working together to share best practice and raise achievement across the whole community.

“It’s also good news that more young children will be better supported as they progress from early learning into primary and then secondary education within one community.”

Nationally there are now 197 Kāhui Ako, covering 1630 schools, 184 early learning services and four tertiary. More than 540,000 young people are benefiting from the collaborative model and 1100 teachers and principals have been appointed to new positions in Communities of Learning.

“Kāhui Ako are no longer just the way of the future for New Zealand education, but the reality of how our schools and providers are operating.

“Through sharing data, resources and expert teachers to focus on tackling their achievement challenges, this model of collaboration is supporting educators to ensure all students have the best opportunity to achieve all that they’re capable of.”

Share this post