Media Statement: Taupo MP congratulates local youth award winners

Electorate news
Tuesday, May 24, 2016

The recipients for the 2016 Youth Awards have been announced today, and local MP Louise Upston would like to congratulate two Taupo residents for receiving an award this year.

Ronan Fitch of Cambridge High School has received a 2016 Youth Award for outstanding leadership. His many contributions to society as a volunteer and youth leader have been recognised today. At the recent ANZAC Day ceremonies in Cambridge, Matamata, Walton and Hamilton, he read 'Not Forgotten' and has edited his first book 'ANZAC War Poetry'.

Tyson Taikato of Taupo, receiving a 2016 Youth Award and recognition for inspiring cultural change and understanding within his community. He contributes to the development of Maori Tamariki and Rangatahi, empowering them to become responsible for their own self-development, tutors Kapa Haka, and volunteers to Te Kohanga Reo.

Congratulations to you both, I’m sure your families are immensely proud of you. Keep up the fantastic work. 

“I am delighted both Ronan and Tyson have been recognised for their contributions to the community, and it’s so great to see Taupo represented in such a way.”

Today at Parliament, we acknowledged and celebrated the amazing achievements of not only Ronan and Tyson, but the other 45 recipients from around New Zealand who have received a 2016 Youth Award.

“These awards are a great initiative that recognises young people doing great things and inspiring change, and also those who support or champion young people,” says Ms Upston.

“All up there are nine award categories, which celebrate qualities such as leadership and the creation of positive change in areas from the arts and culture to sport and the environment.

“A large number of nominations were received for this year’s awards, which shows there’s no shortage of young people out there inspiring greatness, as well as others prepared to give young people the support they need to help them reach their goals,” says Ms Upston.

Details of award recipients and more information about the 2016 Youth Awards are available here on the Ministry of Youth Development’s website.


Media Contact - Jess van Haarlem Ph: 021 809 393